COVID: Pakistan bans flights from 12 countries

Posted on

file image

Pakistan government has placed a travel ban on 12 African countries under the COVID standard operating procedures (SOPs) and eased the restrictions on flights coming from the United Kingdom, The Express Tribune reported.

According to the country’s Civil Aviation Authority (CAA), there are three categories in which countries are placed accordingly to contain the spread of the pandemic.

Category A passengers do not require a COVID test while Category ‘B’ needs a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test conducted 72 hours before travelling to Pakistan. Meanwhile, countries in category ‘C’ must obtain clearance from the country’s National Command and Control Centre (NCOC) before sending their flights to Pakistan, the report said.

On Saturday, CAA issued a new travel guideline placing the African countries including South Africa, Kenya, Ghana, Zambia, Rwanda, and Botswana, in Category C and imposing travel restrictions in view of the spread of the infection. Meanwhile, the CAA removed UK from Category C and added it to ‘B’.

The new order will applicable from March 23 to April 5, 2021. This latest order comes as Pakistan registered a record number of COVID cases in recent months.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment

Most Popular

© 2022 Free Press Kashmir. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version