Jammu & Kashmir

Rahul Gandhi-led Bharat Jodo Yatra to enter JK today

Posted on

Farooq Abdullah with Rahul Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi in Uttar Pradesh during Bharat Jodo Yatra on January 3, 2023.

Jammu: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi’s Bharat Jodo Yatra (BJY) would enter Jammu and Kashmir on Thursday, amid massive deployment in the Union Territory.

Congress insiders said that a grand welcome of Rahul Gandhi’s Yatra is planned at Lakhanpur at around 4.00 pm in the evening, where Jammu and Kashmir’s prominent social and political leaders including former chief minister Farooq Abdullah and Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut would join the march.

NC president Dr. Farooq Abdullah confirmed that he will join the Yatra at Lakhanpur.

Sources in PDP said Mehbooba Mufti would not be present in Lakhanpur tomorrow to welcome Rahul and would join the BJY either at Anantnag or Srinagar after January 26.

Former Congress leader, Choudhary Lal Singh, who had quit the grand old party in 2014, would also join the BJY at Lakhanpur. The flag handover ceremony will also take place at Lakhanpur.

Gandhi, who started a foot march from Kanyakumari in Tamil Nadu on September 7, would culminate the rally in Srinagar on January 30 after covering more than 3000 kilometers across the country.

Earlier, AICC J&K in-charge and member of parliament Rajni Patil informed that BJY would enter Lakhanpur’s Kathua district of JK from Punjab on January 19 at 4 pm.

“After the night halt at Hatli-morh Kathua, Rahul will lead the Yatra from January 20 morning and take a night halt at Chadwal,” she said.

The rally will reach Jammu on January 23 and the party is planning a big rally in the city for which required permission is awaited from the authorities. The Yatra would remain in the Jammu region for over a week.

She further added that the Yatra would enter Kashmir Valley from Jawahar Tunnel on January 27.

The closing ceremony of the Yatra would take place at Sher-i-Kashmir Cricket Stadium in Srinagar on January 30, where the party has planned a mega rally in which senior party members, chief ministers of Congress states, and heads of its allies will be present. (KNO)

Click to comment

Most Popular

© 2024 Free Press Kashmir. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version