Jammu and Kashmir: Newly elected Municipal committee members take oath

The newly elected members of Municipal Committee Kishtwar, Udhampur, Ramban, Batote and Banihal took oath at separate swearing-in ceremonies on Tuesday, following the recently concluded polls that saw a low turnout in the summer capital.

In Kishtwar, the oath was administered by Additional Deputy Commissioner, Kishtwar, Pawan Kumar Parihar  to all the elected members of 13 wards including 04 women.

While congratulating the elected members, the ADC urged upon them to work with zeal, enthusiasm and determination for strengthening the developmental process in the town and serve for the betterment of the society.

Among others, Chief Planning Officer, Yasir L A Balwan, Assistant Superintendent of Police, Prabeet Parihar,  Assistant Commissioner ( Dev) Kishtwar Anil Kumar Chandail, Assistant Commissioner ( Revenue) Afaq Ahmed, Chief Medical Officer, Abdul Majeed, Tehsildar, Kishtwar Shokat Hayat Mattoo, EO , Municipal Committee, Kishtwar, Tariq Balwan, Election Naib Tehsildar, Angrez Singh besides other officers, senior citizens and representatives of political parties were also present on the occasion.

ALSO READ: ULB polls were a ‘complete mess’, further demolished democratic institutions in the state, says PDP

In Batote, the oath was administered by Additional Deputy Commissioner (ADC), Ramban, Dr Basharat Hussain to all elected members of 07 wards of Batote MC including two women at Town hall, Batote.

 Similarly, Assistant Commissioner Revenue (ACR), Ramban, Vevaik Puri administered the , 06 elected members of Ramban MC including two women at Community hall, Maitra. Pertinent to mention here that Ramban MC , the election in ward no 2 was countermanded due to the natural death of a candidate namely Azad Singh Raju.

Like-wise, SDM Banihal, Zameer Rishu administered oath to 06 elected members of Banihal MC  including 02 women at Town hall, Banihal.

Due to health issues, an elected member namely Mohammad Sharief Ganie was not present on the occasion.

District Development Commissioner, Udhampur, Ravinder Kumar administered the oath to all 21 elected members.

ALSO READ: Municipal Polls: BJP emerges as front runner in Jammu, Congress leads in valley

The oath ceremony was attended by ASP, Tabassum Parveen, Assistant Commissioner Revenue, Sonu Pargal, District Information Officer, Er Sajad  Bashir Somberia,  Dy SP HQ, Zahid Wani Chief Executive Officer Municipality, Santosh Kotwal  besides  other officers and prominent citizens of the district.

While congratulating the elected members, the DDC urged upon them to work for public welfare and development of their respective wards in the district.

 Similarly, SDM Ramnagar and Chenani also administered oaths to the elected members of Ramnagar and Chenani Municipal Committees, respectively.

Click to comment
To Top