Indian Assembly Elections: MP CM Shivraj tenders resignation, BSP, SP to support Congress in forming govt

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan has tendered his resignation to the Governor Anandiben Patel, while Mayawati-led BSP and Akhilesh Yadav’s Samajwadi Party have offered support to the Congress to form the government in Madhya Pradesh.

Bahujan Samaj Party chief Mayawati offered support to Congress in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh. “Results show that people in states like Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh were totally against the BJP and its anti ppl policies and as a result chose Congress due to lack of other major alternatives. Even though we don’t agree with many of Congress’s policies we have agreed to support them in Madhya Pradesh and if need be in Rajasthan,” she told ANI.

In an unprecedented move, Congress secured 114 seats in BJP’s stronghold MP, and is expected to meet the Governor to stake a claim to form the government.

Congress formed an absolute majority in Chhattisgarh. In Rajasthan, the party could not form a majority since it was short of two seats.

Telangana gave a landslide victory to TRS-AIMIM, whereas in Mizoram, the the Mizo National Front defeated the Congress.

Click to comment
To Top