Mahinda Rajapaksa takes oath as PM of Sri Lanka for fourth time

Photo: Rajapaksha's Twitter handle


Srinagar: On Sunday, the leader of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna party, Mahinda Rajapaksa took an oath as the Prime Minister of the nation for the fourth time, after his party won the recently held parliamentary election.

Soon after the oath-taking ceremony, taking to his twitter, Rajapaksa wrote: “I am humbled by the opportunity given to me to serve my people again. The trust SriLankans afford me, inspires me to continue serving my nation.”

In presence of the diplomatic community and legislators from the ruling and opposition parties, Rajapaksa took oath during a grand ceremony held at Kelaniya Temple, a report published by news agency IANS said.

Kelaniya Temple is a Buddhist temple on the outskirts of Sri Lanka’s capital Colombo.

According to Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, the new parliament will convene on August 20.

The ruling Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) led by Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa won a landslide victory in the August 5 parliamentary election by gaining a majority in the new 225-member parliament, the nations Election Commission announced on Friday.

The SLPP won 145 seats, making it the single largest party to gain a nearly two-thirds majority in Parliament.

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya or the United People’s Front, led by former presidential candidate Sajith Premadasa was the runner-up by winning 54 seats while the ITAK, a Tamil political party, won 10 seats.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join

Click to comment
To Top