Government lists 135 Kashmir based Journalists as ‘accredited’

Kashmir based media persons held protests in 2016 during people's uprising when government banned publications of newspapers from Srinagar. (FPK file Photo)

Srinagar: The Department of Information and Public Relations (DIPR) has uploaded the list of Accredited Media-persons from both Kashmir and Jammu divisions on its official website.

The list is available on the link

To remove the discrepancies, if any, in the Accredited Media list, the DIPR has urged the Journalists and the News Media Organizations to bring the same into the notice of the Department through Shabir Ahmad, Media Coordinator on Cell No: 9419007581 so that the matter is placed before the News Media Accreditation Committee in its next meeting for review and appropriate action, an official spoeksperson said on late Wednesday evening.

As no meeting of the Accreditation Committee was convened last year, the DIPR has renewed the Accreditation Cards of journalists issued in 2015-16 following the recommendations of the Press Accreditation Committee.

The Government has recently notified the New Accreditation Policy replacing the outdated Accreditation Policy of 1997.

The Government has also extended the term of the Accreditation Committee which was constituted last year.

There are presently 265 accredited media-persons in Jammu and Kashmir including 135 in Kashmir division and 130 in Jammu division.

Pertinently, the Accreditation not only facilitates the access of the journalists to various important government functions and events, but also entitles them to various benefits including government accommodation, concessional medical treatment in various premiere hospitals, 50% rebate in rail fare in all classes etc.

Click to comment
To Top