New Delhi appointed Governor’s rule in JK: A look at the timeline

After BJP’s Kashmir pointsman and general secretary Ram Madhav announced the end of the “unholy alliance” between PDP and BJP, eighth Governor’s rule is likely to be imposed on Jammu and Kashmir.

The last governor rule was imposed on Jan 9, 2016, two days after the demise of former chief minister and PDP patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed.

The first governor’s rule was imposed in March 1977 under then Governor L K Jha after Congress withdrew its support to the then National Conference government headed by NC founder Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah.

In March 1986, Governor’s rule of Jagmohan Malhotra was imposed in the state for the second time when Congress withdrew support to the minority government headed Ghulam Mohammad Shah of Awami National Conference.

In January 1990, for the third time the state came under governor’s rule after then Chief Minister Farooq Abdullah resigned. The then Governor Jagmohan’s rule was imposed for six years and eight months. His rule continued till October 1996 when fresh assembly elections were held.

ALSO READ: Jagmohan: He came as a ‘nurse’, but…

For the fourth time, Governor’s rule was imposed in October 2002 after then caretaker chief minister Farooq Abdullah refused to continue in office as his party suffered defeat in the assembly elections then.

For the fifth time, Governor’s rule was imposed in the state for 174 days following the withdrawal of support by PDP to Congress-led government in July 2008 over the Amarnath land row. The state government was headed by Ghulam Nabi Azad.

In 2015, the state came under the governor’s rule for the sixth time after PDP and BJP took two months to cobble up a coalition government.

Click to comment
To Top