Jammu & Kashmir

COVID: North Kashmir districts to remain under curfew tomorrow

Srinagar: Given the prevailing COVID pandemic situation across the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir, the authorities on Thursday ordered a complete curfew for Friday across north Kashmir.

North Kashmir comprises three border districts including Bandipora, Kupwara, and Baramulla.

The Deputy Commissioners of three border districts announced the lockdown across north Kashmir for Friday given the pandemic situation and allowed the movement of essential services only.

In a tweet, the office of Deputy Commissioner Bandipora informed that “There shall be complete #CoronaCurfew tomorrow on 11-06-2021 (Friday) in District Bandipora.”

“Only essential services as permitted in the order dated 30.05.2021 shall be allowed”, the DC office informed.

An order issued by Deputy Commissioner Baramulla read that “There
shall be complete Corona Curfew across the entire jurisdiction of District Baramulla, on Friday 11.06.2021.”

“Only essential services permitted as mentioned in Order No: 04/DMB/COVID/2021, Dated:30-05-2021 shall be allowed”, the order read.

Meanwhile, the Deputy Commissioner Kupwara in an order said: “There shall be complete Corona Curfew on 11-06-2021 ( Friday ) across the District.”

“Only essential services as permitted in order dated:-30-05-2021 be allowed”, the order reads.

It reads that the weekend curfew shall also remain in force till 7: 00 am Monday.

It further read that Sr Superintendent of Police Kupwara and Handwara shall implement this order in letter and spirit.

Notably, last week similar orders were issued given the pandemic situation and a complete preventive curfew was enforced to contain the spread of the COVID.

It may be recalled that the authorities in Jammu and Kashmir have earlier started the phased manner unlocking in JK with the decline in positivity rate in recent days and announced a complete curfew on weekend.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top