14 parties boycott Indian Constitution Day celebrations at Parliament

Posted on

Parliament of India. File Photo

New Delhi: Fourteen parties, including the Left parties, All India Trinamool Congress (TMC), Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Shiv Sena, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and Samajwadi Party (SP) have boycotted Indian Constitution Day celebrations at the Central Hall of the Parliament of India on Friday.

On the occasion, the Prime Minister of India Narendra Modi said, “Constitution binds this diverse country. Constitution Day is the day to salute this House, where many of India’s leaders brainstormed to give us the Constitution of India.”

He further said, “In the present circumstances, I doubt if we will be able to follow even one page of the Constitution.” Congress and several other opposition parties including TMC, AAP, and DMK have decided to boycott the Constitution Day celebrations.

Lok Sabha speaker Om Birla said that the opposition parties should have participated in the function as it was a function of Parliament not of the government.

“Constitution Day function was of Parliament and not of government. I am upset by the boycott of opposition parties. It is my endeavour that there should be no tradition of a boycott during the address of President, vice president, and the governor,” Birla said.

The Lok Sabha Speaker added that he had also said this in the presiding officers’ conference that if anyone has any complaint or issue, then he can talk to me.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment

Most Popular

© 2022 Free Press Kashmir. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version