‘Not BJP’s team B’: Mayawati says her party will learn from election results as BSP wins one seat in UP

Posted on

A file photo of BSP chief and former UP CM Mayawati.

Lucknow: Mayawati, the former Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and the chief of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), whose party won 1 seat in the state, on Friday said that election results is a lesson and BSP is not BJP’s team B.

“UP election results are opposed to BSP’s expectations. We should not be discouraged by it. Instead, we should learn form it, introspect and carry forward our party movement, and come back to power,” the BSP chief was quoted as saying by ANI.

She also stressed that her party is not the BJP’s “team B” and “only the BSP can stop the BJP”.

“Before 2017, the BJP did not have a good stake in Uttar Pradesh. Likewise today, Congress is also undergoing the same phase as the BJP. The UP election result is a lesson for us to continue putting in efforts,” the report quoted her further saying.

Pertinently, elections in the five states of India concluded and the election results in 2022 are to be announced today. Many political parties along with the population of India will be watching the mandate given by the voters. Election results 2022 will be released for each seat and counting for individual seats will be declared.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has managed to win four out of the five states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur – that went to poll in February and March, while a relatively newer Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has won in Punjab.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP has crossed the 270 mark in the latest trends. The BJP has also extended its lead in Uttarakhand with the Congress trailing in the hill state. The saffron party won 20 seats in Goa while the Congress has won 11 seats. In Manipur too it emerged as the single-largest party, bagging 32 of the total 60 seats.

The AAP scored a spectacular victory in Punjab, winning 92 seats. A total of 690 assembly constituencies voted in the five states between 10 February and 7 March. The counting of votes for the seats commenced at 8 am on Thursday.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment

Most Popular

© 2024 Free Press Kashmir. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version