Bhagwant Mann to take oath as Punjab CM, Yogi returns to power in UP

A file photo of BJP supporters during election rally.

New Delhi: As Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) gained power from Congress in Punjab, the Chief Minister designate, Bhagwant Mann, is all set to take the oath of office along with other cabinet ministers on March 16 at Khatkar Kalan, the native village of Bhagat Singh near Nawanshahar.

In Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath, who after BJP’s victory is set to become the first Chief Minister to return to power in the state after completing a five-year term, on Friday submitted his resignation to Governor of the state Anandiben Patel on completion of his first tenure.

In the electoral battle, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious in four of the five states- . Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Goa and AAP won the seat in Punjab.

In Punjab, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) recorded a historic victory, with the largest mandate in recent years in the state.

In Uttar Pradesh, the BJP became the first party to retain power in the state since 1985. While CM Pushkar Singh Dhami lost his seat. In Goa, BJP crossed the majority mark with the help of three Independent candidates and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, which extended its support to the saffron party despite a pre-poll alliance with TMC.

Congress leader P Chidambaram noted, “The overwhelming majority voted against the BJP, but their votes were split among many parties, which gave the BJP the opportunity to win 20 seats.”


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top