Massive blow to BJP as Congress sweeps Panchayat Samiti polls in Nagpur

Congress flag.

Nagpur: In a massive bow to BJP, the Congress dominated the results of elections to the posts of Panchayat Samiti chairpersons and deputy chairpersons in Nagpur district of Maharashtra.

The BJP could not win even a single post of chairperson and managed to secure only three seats of deputy chairperson in the elections, results of which were declared last week, PTI reported.

Nagpur district is the home turf of the BJP’s current chief of Maharashtra unit Chandrashekhar Bawankule, state Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Nitin Gadkari.

Nagpur also houses the headquarters of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), the ideological fountainhead of the BJP that is currently in power in the state.

The Congress won nine out of 13 posts of chairperson and eight out of 13 posts of deputy chairperson in the district, the news agency report said.

The Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) secured three posts of chairperson, while the Shiv Sena managed to win one such post, the district officials said were quoted as saying.

The Congress won the chairperson’s post in Saoner, Kalmeshwar, Parseoni, Mouda, Kamptee, Umred, Bhivapur, Kuhi and Nagpur Rural. The NCP won the post in Katol, Narkhed and Hingna, and the Shiv Sena won the Ramtek chairperson’s post, they said.

Click to comment
To Top