Jammu & Kashmir

Kashmiri among new 20 languages supported by Microsoft Translator

Posted on

Microsoft Translator screen grab.

Srinagar: Microsoft Translator has expanded its language support, adding support for 4 new languages, supporting a total of 20 languages, including Kashmiri, Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu.

This expansion brings Microsoft Translator closer to its objective of accommodating all official language. According to Microsoft, this update is anticipated to benefit nearly 61 million people.

Notably, Bhojpuri, spoken in eastern Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, and Jharkhand, has approximately 51 million speakers.

Bodo, spoken by around 1.4 million people in Assam, Meghalaya, and Bangladesh, and Dogri, spoken by 1.6 million people in Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, and Punjab, are also included.Kashmiri, spoken by around 7 million people in Jammu and Kashmir and parts of Pakistan, is another language now supported by Microsoft Translator.

Microsoft’s collaboration with Jio Haptik and the integration of Microsoft Translator play a crucial role in overcoming linguistic barriers, providing technology access across diverse communities in India.

Users can access the translation feature through various Microsoft platforms, including the Microsoft Translator app, Edge browser, Office 365, Bing Translator, and the Azure AI Translator API.

This feature facilitates translation between over 135 languages, including the recently added languages, for applications, websites, tools, and workflows.

Click to comment

Most Popular

© 2024 Free Press Kashmir. All rights reserved.

Exit mobile version