Kashmir Municipal Polls: Five Independents, four Congress candidates declared winners in Sumbal

Representational Image.

Srinagar: Five independent and four congress candidates have been declared winners so far in Municipal Committee elections that concluded on October 16 across Jammu and Kashmir.

Meanwhile in Bandipora Municipal committee, officials said that Congress has secured 12 wards while BJP has won 1 and independent candidates have won 2.

Congress has also won the lone contested ward of Municipal Committee ward of Budgam in the recently concluded Civic polls.

“In the lone ward (5) only 109 votes were polled out of 642 with two candidates one of BJP and one of INC were in fray,” officials said.

Congress’s Mushtaq Ahmad Bhat defeated BJP’s Nissar Ahmad Najar with a margin of 27 votes.

Officials said that four congress candidates and five independent candidates have been declared winners so far. BJP is yet to open account in the municipal committee.

Meanwhile, out of the total 72 wards, 45 other candidates have won uncontested, while the rest 26 wards remain uncontested.

Furthermore, Independent candidates have secured a lead in the MC Sumbal elections winning 6 wards while Congress has won 5.

BJP has not won a single ward out of 11 wards. The elections were held on 11 wards out of 13 in the municipal committee.

The two other wards have also gone to independent candidates unopposed.

For the Srinagar municipal corporation, the counting is being held at the Sher-e-Kashmir International Convention Centre (SKICC) in Srinagar and for the Jammu municipal corporation it is being held at the Polytechnic Institute near Bikram Chowk.

For other districts of the state, counting is being held at the respective district headquarters.

Tight security arrangements have been made all across the state.

Click to comment
To Top