From ‘Corrupt’ to ‘Jumlajeevi’, Parliament issues long list of words to be banned inside both houses

Parliament of India during Winter Session 2021.

New Delhi: The Lok Sabha secretariat has recently issued a booklet that lists words that in both houses of Parliament will now be considered unparliamentary.

The revised booklet on ‘unparliamentary words and expressions’ comes ahead of the Monsoon session beginning tomorrow.

The words that have been banned include ‘jumlajeevi’, ‘baal buddhi’, ‘Covid spreader’ and ‘Snoopgate’ drawing criticism from opposition politicians of India.

As per the booklet, the use of words like ‘anarchist’, ‘Shakuni’, ‘dictatorial’, ‘taanashah’, ‘taanashahi’, ‘Jaichand’, ‘vinash purush’, ‘Khalistani’ and ‘khoon se kheti’ would also be expunged if used during debates or otherwise in both the houses.

Even commonly used words like ‘ashamed’, ‘abused, ‘betrayed’, ‘corrupt’, ‘drama’, ‘hypocrisy’ and ‘incompetent’ – often used by the opposition to describe the government of India – will be considered unparliamentary in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Words like ‘dohra charitra’, ‘nikamma’, ‘nautanki’, ‘dhindora peetna’ and ‘behri sarkar’ have also been listed as unparliamentary expressions, according to the booklet.

English words listed by the Secretariat as unparliamentary also include ‘bloodshed’, ‘bloody’, ‘betrayed’, ‘ashamed’, ‘abused’, ‘cheated, ‘chamcha’, ‘chamchagiri’, ‘chelas’, ‘childishness’, ‘corrupt’, ‘coward’, ‘criminal’ and ‘crocodile tears’.

Words like ‘disgrace’, ‘donkey’, ‘drama’, ‘eyewash’, ‘fudge’, ‘hooliganism’, ‘hypocrisy’, ‘incompetent’, ‘mislead’, ‘lie’ and ‘untrue’ have also been prohibited for use in Parliament from now on.

Reacting to the report, Rajya Sabha member Derek O’Brien dared the government to suspend him and said he will use all these words in Parliament.

“GAG ORDER ISSUED ON MPs. Now, we will not be allowed to use these basic words while delivering a speech in Parliament: Ashamed. Abused. Betrayed. Corrupt. Hypocrisy. Incompetent,” the TMC politician tweeted. “I will use all these words. Suspend me. Fighting for democracy.”

Another TMC MP, Mahua Moitra, tweeted, “Basically govt taken all words used by the opposition to describe how BJP destroying India & banned them.”

Senior Congress leader and Rajya Sabha member Jairam Ramesh said that all words used to “describe the reality” of the Modi government will now be considered ‘unparliamentary’. “What next Vishguru?”


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top