Election Commission to announce poll schedule of five states today

Election Commission of India.

New Delhi: The Election Commission is set to announce the schedule for assembly elections in five states on Monday at 12 noon. This announcement will be made during a press conference held by the Commission. The states in question are Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Mizoram.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar has given directions to over 1000 observers to ensure a fair and transparent electoral process by working together in a coordinated manner.

Their goal is to ensure that the elections are conducted without any undue influence or inducements, providing a level-playing field for all parties involved.

These observers will be deployed for the upcoming elections in the legislative assemblies of Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana. Their primary responsibility is to maintain the integrity of the elections and ensure that no unfair advantages are given to any party.

The term of the Mizoram assembly is set to end on December 17, with the Mizo National Front currently in power in the northeastern state. Meanwhile, the legislative assemblies of Telangana, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh have terms ending on different dates in January next year.

As of the latest information available, the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) is in power in Telangana, the BJP governs Madhya Pradesh, and Congress holds the government in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan.

Click to comment
To Top