Shehbaz Sharif to be PM of Pakistan for second time

Shehbaz Sharif.

PML-N party president Shehbaz Sharif has been elected the 24th prime minister of Pakistan after clinching 201 votes.

Omer Ayub Khan, the PTI’s candidate for the premier, secured 92 votes, as announced by National Assembly Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Speaking in the National Assembly after losing the election for prime minister, Omar Ayub Khan lamented the situation of law and order in the country, as reported by Dawn.

He noted that a large percentage of the country’s youth have it imprinted in their minds that the country has been marred with terrorism and violence.

“You talk about rule of law, but you never even enforced rule of law,” he said, addressing points made by Shehbaz Sharif just minutes earlier in his maiden speech as newly elected PM.


Pertinently, voters in Pakistan went to the polls on February 8 in an election marred by a mobile internet shutdown, arrests and violence in its build-up and unusually delayed results, leading to accusations that the vote was rigged.

Click to comment
To Top