LS polls: 15% voter turnout till 11 am in Srinagar

Voters standing in a queue at a polling station in Khanyar, Srinagar on May 13, 2024. [FPK Photo/ Umar Farooq]

Srinaagr: Srinagar had a voter turnout of approximately 14.94 percent by 11am on Monday, Election Commission of India said.

The Commission said that Srinagar is one of the three constituencies in Kashmir and is part of the 96 seats voting in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections nationwide.

Polling is underway in Jammu and Kashmir’s Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency where 24 candidates are in the fray, officials said on Monday. This marks the first parliamentary polls since the revocation of Article 370 on August 5, 2019.

Voting commenced at 7am, with people observed queuing outside polling stations to cast their votes in certain parts of the constituency.

This polling for the Srinagar seat is part of the fourth round of the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections.

The main contenders for the seat include Waheed Ur Rehman Para from the People’s Democratic Party and Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi from the Jammu and Kashmir National Conference.

Notably, both the Congress and BJP have chosen not to nominate candidates for this seat.

Since June 2018, Jammu and Kashmir has been under GoI rule following the collapse of the PDP-BJP government, with the most recent assembly elections held in 2014.

Currently, Jammu and Kashmir has five Lok Sabha seats: Baramulla, Srinagar, Anantnag-Rajouri, Udhampur, and Jammu. The voting process in the region is being carried out in five phases.

Click to comment
To Top