No-confidence motion against NDA: Congress, CPM, AIADMK, AIMIM, AAP to support TDP

New Delhi: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) which decided to walk away from the NDA on Friday and pass a no-confidence motion against the Modi government, will have the support of the Congress Party, the CPM, the AIADMK, the AIMIM and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The TDP had planned to move the no-confidence motion on Friday in the Lok Sabha, but around noon, the Speaker adjourned the House until Monday.

The support of several opposition parties for the no-trust motion means it will be more than comfortably accepted as it will have the support of at least 50 members of Parliament (MPs) in the House, which is a minimum requirement.

The no-trust move will be the first such move during the tenure of this NDA government.

The Congress has 48 MPs in the Lok Sabha, the AIADMK has 37, the TDP has 16, the YSR Congress and the CPM have nine MPs each, and the AIMIM has one MP.

CPM leader Sitaram Yechury said that the betrayal with Andhra by not giving them the special status in unacceptable.

“CPM supports the no-confidence motion being brought against the BJP government. Its betrayal of the promise of special status for Andhra Pradesh is inexcuseable. Its all-round failure and evasion of parliamentary accountability needs to be highlighted,” said senior CPM leader Sitaram Yechury.

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi had several reasons to support the no-confidence motion against the NDA.

“The MIM party will support the no-confidence motion in Lok Sabha today not only for failure on part of Modi Govt to implement State Reorganisation Act but failure to fulfill their promise to provide employment to youth and for injustice to Muslim women and minorities,” said Owaisi.

Click to comment
To Top