As BJP renames iconic Mughalsarai station, Delhi CM Kejriwal takes a dig at Govt

The iconic Mughalsarai railway station in Uttar Pradesh, which is also one of India’s oldest, has been officially renamed as Deen Dayal Upadhyay Junction.

Upadhyay was one of the BJP’s tallest icons.

Last year, Government of India had given the green signal to UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s request to rename the station, despite protests raised in parliament by various parties.

On Wednesday, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), after the development took a dig at the ruling BJP.

In a tweet in Hindi Chief Minister of New Delhi and AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal said, “If you vote for BJP, then the names of cities and stations will change. If you vote for AAP, then the future of your children will change.”

However, the East Central Railway (ECR) is yet to receive any intimation in this regard from the Railway Board. ECR officials and divisional railway manager (DRM), Mughalsarai, Pankaj Saxena on Tuesday said they haven’t received any official communication from the Railway Board.

“We will act as per Railway Board’s directive only. We haven’t received any official communication renaming Mughalsarai Junction from the Board or ECR headquarters so far. Any action regarding changing the name of the junction would be taken as per Board’s directive only,” he added. Naik on Monday gave his consent to the state government’s decision of renaming Mughalsarai Junction in Chandauli district as Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyay Junction and the government immediately issued a notification.

Click to comment
To Top