Imran Khan elected as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI) Chief Imran Khan has been elected as the 22nd prime minister of Pakistan, Dawn News reported.

Khan won with 176 seats while his opponent, PML-N’s Shahbaz Sharif, secured 96 votes in the polling that took place in the National Assembly on Friday.

As the newly elected speaker of the house, Asad Qaiser, announced the results, the house erupted with chants of “na manzoor” [unacceptable]. The protests by PML-N leaders continued as the speaker tried to restore order in the house. Khan, in the meantime, sat smiling in his seat, accepting congratulations by his party members.

To Top