Two more ministers quit BJP ahead of Assembly polls in UP, seven this week

A file photo of Yogi Adityanath.

Uttar Pradesh: In yet another major blow to BJP in Uttar Pradesh, two more ministers Swami Prasad Maurya and Dharam Singh Saini have resigned from the Yogi Adityanath government and the ruling BJP and joined the Samajwadi Party in the presence of Akhilesh Yadav.

Besides Maurya and Dharam Singh Saini, the other politicians who joined the Samajwadi Party were MLAs Vinay Shakya and Bhagwati Sagar.

Uttar Pradesh MLA Chaudhary Amar Singh of the Apna Dal Thursday quit the BJP-led alliance just weeks ahead of polls. Pertinently, this is the eleventh resignation for Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath in three days. Akhilesh Yadav, who has emerged as the key challenger in UP, has yet again benefitted.

To Top