Modi takes oath for third consecutive term as PM of India

Modi sworn in as India's prime minister for a third term.

New Delhi: Narendra Modi has been sworn in as India’s prime minister for a third term in a ceremony at the presidential palace in Delhi. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) head took his oath, promising to serve all people impartially.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won the general election with 293 seats, falling short of exit poll predictions. The opposition saw a resurgence, winning 234 seats.

Thousands attended the inauguration, including leaders from Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives, but not from Pakistan or China. Security was tight, with Delhi declared a no-fly zone and over 2,500 police officers deployed.

Sworn in by President of India Draupadi Murmu, Modi pledged to uphold India’s sovereignty and constitution. He was joined by his new cabinet ministers. At 73, Modi is only the second Indian leader after Jawaharlal Nehru to win three consecutive terms. Despite predictions of an outright BJP victory, the NDA had to rely on allies Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and Janata Dal (United) JD(U) to form the government.

On Friday, Modi was elected as the leader of the Lok Sabha, BJP parliamentary party, and NDA.

Click to comment
To Top