Jammu & Kashmir

Govt approves Ladakh as the third revenue, administrative division of JK

Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir government has approved for the creation of a separate division for Ladakh as a revenue and administrative division, ahead of the 2019 general elections in the region.

The development occurs after the two districts- Leh and Kargil- had consistently demanded for the same. Approval of the posts of Divisional Commissioner (Ladakh) and Inspector General of Police (Ladakh) have also been carried out. The new division will have its headquarters in Leh.

Currently, Ladakh is part of the Kashmir division and is administratively managed through the Leh and Kargil Autonomous Hill Councils.

Earlier in December, both Hill councillors had signed resolutions demanding a separate division for Ladakh seeking “complete autonomy” from the Kashmir administrative set up.

The government order approving the creation of the Ladakh division is as follows: “This decision of the Government goes a long way in fulfilling the governance and development aspirations of the people of Ladakh region. The issue has been discussed at various fora and there has been a persistent demand for the creation of Division for Ladakh from many organizations including the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Councils (LAHDC) Leh and Kargil.”

It states that the Ladakh region is geographically isolated with a sparse population and inhospitable terrain which remains landlocked for nearly six months in a year.

“Consequently, the Region is riddled with insurmountable problems with respect to delivery of developmental schemes, redressal of public grievances, conduct of administrative affairs and governance as such,” the order read.

Click to comment
To Top