Imran Khan led PTI wins assembly elections in Pakistan administered Kashmir

Photo: Twitter

The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has emerged victorious in the legislative assembly elections in Pakistan-administered Kashmir, Pakistan media reported on Monday. The party will consequently form a government in the region.

Although results of one constituency is pending, unofficial results showed PTI in the lead with 25 seats, PPP in second place with 11 and PML-N in third place with six seats.

Polling was held across the region, home to 4.04 million people, and in certain districts in Pakistan where large populations of Kashmiri migrants live.

Pakistan and India both claim the entire territory of Kashmir but administer separate parts of it, divided by a Line of Control (LoC).

Voting on Sunday followed a hotly contested campaign between Pakistan’s main political parties, with violence erupting in at least one constituency on Sunday.

At least two people were killed and several others wounded when a clash occurred between supporters of the PTI and the PPP in the town of Kotli, about 100km (62 miles) south of Muzaffarabad, the territory’s capital. Polling was temporarily interrupted in that and several other constituencies due to violence.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Peoples Party Chairperson Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz Monday alleged that the PTI won the Kashmir polls through rigging and rejected the results of the elections held Sunday.

Maryam praised the party workers for “putting up a good fight” despite “violence and rigging by PTI” in the Kashmir elections held Sunday.

Taking to Twitter, Bilawal Bhutto claimed the election commission had failed to take action against the PTI for violating electoral rules.

“Despite this, PPP emerged as the largest opposition party in AJK with 11 seats, up from 3 seats last time. incredibly proud of PPPAJK for putting up a good fight,” the PPP leader tweeted while sharing the list of the party’s winning candidates.

PML-N Vice President Maryam Nawaz also tweeted that she has not accepted the results and will never accept them. “I did not accept the 2018 results either or acknowledge this fake government,” she added.

“What response we will come up with for this shameless rigging, is a matter that the party will decide soon, InshaAllah.”


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top