‘Won’t sit with thieves’: Imran Khan resigns from Pakistan National Assembly

Imran Khan, his party members in Pakistan National Assembly. [File Photo]

The former prime minister of Pakistan Imran Khan has reportedly decided to tender his resignation as a member of the National Assembly ahead of the election for the new prime minister.

The decision was reportedly made during the PTI’s parliamentary party meeting, Geo News reported.

The report quoting sources, said: “We will not sit in this Assembly under any circumstances.” He said that PTI will not sit in the Assembly with the “people who have robbed Pakistan” and who have been “imported by foreign forces”.

“We have made this decision to keep the institutions under pressure who want this government to run the country […] we will not let them continue.”

“The man who has 16 billion and 8 billion rupees of corruption cases, whoever selects and elects the Prime Minister can not be a big insult to the country. We are resigning from the National Assembly,” Imran Khan was quoted as saying by PTI’s official Twitter account.

He stated that the entire country saw the power of PTI on Sunday night as hordes of people.

In another major development, the PTI has also decided to boycott the election of the prime minister for which they have nominated former foreign minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi.

So far, several members, including Hammad Azhar, Farrukh Habib, Ali Zaidi, Murad Saeed, Shireen Mazari, Shafqat Mahmood, Ali Amin Gandapur, and Ali Mohammad Khan have resigned, the report added.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top