India’s 15th President set to be elected today as voting begins

Rashtrapati Bhavan. [File Photo]

New Delhi: As voting to elect the 15th President of India began this morning two candidates, National Democratic Alliance’s Droupadi Murmu and former Finance Minister of India and Trinamool Congress member Yashwant Sinha, are in the race for the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

A polling booth has been set up inside the Parliament premises where Members of Parliament will cast their votes.

Rajya Sabha’s Secretary General is the Returning Officer for this election. The President is elected by members of the Electoral College consisting of elected Members of Parliament and of all the state Assemblies, including the Delhi and the Union Territory of Puducherry.

Nominated Members of Parliament, state Assemblies and Members of Legislative Council are not eligible to vote. A total of 776 Members of Parliament and 4,033 MLAs will vote in the Presidential elections.

With several regional parties extending their support to Murmu, a former Jharkhand governor, the numbers are in clear favour of the NDA nominee. These parties include the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena, Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S), Shiromani Akali Dal, Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), AIADMK, TDP, YSRCP and Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas).

Sinha is being supported by the Congress, Sharad Pawar’s Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Trinamool Congress, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Akhilesh Yadav led-Samajwadi Party, National Conference, All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), Rashtriya Janata Dal and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF). The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is the latest to join the list.


Free Press Kashmir is now on Telegram. Click here to Join.
FPK Android App for 2G. Click here to Download.

Click to comment
To Top