INDIA bloc to hold first joint public rally in Bhopal

Rahul gandhi and Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge.

New Delhi: Following the INDIA bloc Coordination Committee meeting that took place on Wednesday, DMK MP TR Baalu announced that the alliance, consisting of more than two dozen opposition parties, has made a significant decision.

They have agreed to organize their inaugural joint public rally in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh, which is currently gearing up for upcoming elections, during the first week of October.

Additionally, TR Baalu emphasized that the constituent parties will promptly initiate discussions regarding the allocation of seats for the upcoming elections. Priority will be given to states where assembly elections are slated to take place later this year.

“We have decided to go for seat-sharing arrangements and discussions at various states. The states where assembly elections are going to be held immediately will be given priority. The first rally will be held in Bhopal in the first week of October,” Baalu said, as per ANI.

The first meeting of the Coordination Committee of the INDIA alliance, attended by 12 members parties, was held at NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s residence in the national capital on Wednesday.

“The first meeting of the Coordination Committee was held today at the residence of Sharad Pawar and attended by 12 members parties. Abhishek Banerjee of All India Trinamool Congress could not attend the meeting due to a summon by the Enforcement Directorate, arising out of the vendetta politics of Bharatiya Janata Party,” the joint statement read.

“The Coordination Committee has decided to start the process for determining seat-sharing. It was decided that member parties would hold talks and decide at the earliest,” it stated.

“The coordination committee authorised the Sub-Group on Media to decide upon the names of the anchors on whose shows none of the INDIA parties will send their representatives,” it added.

Assembly elections are due in states including Rajasthan, Chattisgarh, MP and Telangana later this year.

The next INDIA Alliance meeting will be held after the Parliament special session.

Moreover, in the meeting, a discussion was also being done on the controversy regarding Sanatan Dharma. Stalin’s letter was being discussed and it was decided that all the parties would take the same line, sources added.

Opposition’s Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance (INDIA) in its third meeting in Mumbai on September 1 announced a 14-member coordination committee.

The names of 13 members have been announced; however, the name of one person is yet to be revealed. The Opposition has yet to choose a convener.

The 14-member committee includes KC Venugopal (Congress), Sharad Pawar (NCP), TR Baalu (DMK), Hemant Soren (JMM), Sanjay Raut (SS), Tejasvi Yadav (RJD), Abhishek Banerjee (TMC), Raghav Chaddha (AAP), Javed Ali Khan (SP), Lallan Singh (JD(U)), D Raja (CPI), Omar Abdullah (NC), Mehbooba Mufti (PDP) and one leader is from the CPI(M) that will give the name later.

Click to comment
To Top