Champions Trophy 2017: Pacer Amir hits left, right and centre as Pakistan reaches semi-finals

Muhammad Amir, the Pakistan pacer.

Srinagar: In a dramatic turn of events in a cricket match between Pakistan and Srilanka, fast bowler Muhammad Amir played some very good shots thus making space for green gersey wearing  men in semi-finals in the ongoing Champions Trophy being played in England.

Pakistan won the Champions Trophy match against Srilanka on Monday at Cardiff, United Kingdom in a crucial Champions Trophy fixture that would send one of the teams packing out of the tournament.

It was Pakistani bowlers first who restricted the Srilankan team to 236 runs in given 50 hours. However, Pakistan achieved the target in only 44.5 overs with seven wickets lost.

The chase seemed easy at first but the “not much reliable” batting order of Pakistan team started falling at small intervals with Amir coming to crease when green team had already lost seven wickets. But Sarfaraz Ahmad – the captain – made a good pair with Amir who made way through to reach semis.

Sarfaraz played along with Mohammad Amir, as Perera and Malinga looked to claim the remaining wickets.

“This game is too close to call,” said Ramiz Raja from the commentary box.

With this win, Sarfaraz is the first Pakistani captain to win ‘man of the match’ award in Champions Trophy. He finished the match by hitting a boundary through the ‘third-man’. He remained unbeaten at 61.

Amir made the crucial 28 runs of 43 balls.

Pakistan won two matches so far but lost one to arch rivals India.

It was Srilankan team which fought hard in their last match winning over Indian team.

The losing team will be making its way back home after this knockout fixture. India has already qualified for the semi-final from group B, while England and Bangladesh are moving forward to the next stage from group A.

Pakistan will face England on Wednesday at the same venue to reach finals.

This year, three Asian cricket teams reached the semi-finals including Pakistan, Bangladesh and India.


Sri Lanka: Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews (cpt), Dinesh Chandimal, Asela Gunaratne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (cpt)(wk), Imad Wasim, Fahim Ashraf, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan.

Click to comment
To Top